Satin

image

Retaining moisture is a must for any naturalista that wants manageable, healthy hair. One of the most popular ways to do this is to sleep with a silk or satin bonnet or scarf with added protection from a silk or satin pillowcase. I hear silk is much better than satin but it’s also much more expensive so I’ll just stick with satin. 🙂 I don’t sleep in a satin bonnet or scarf. I don’t think it makes sense for me to have my hair covered up all day and then cover it again overnight. My hair and scalp need to breathe!

What I do is I spray my hair with a water and oil mix (olive oil is my favourite) or I pass wet hands over my hair (as I would in ablution) and then rub oil over it. I prefer spraying though. Then I put a satin scarf over my hair and tie it at the back. I wear an undercap on this satin scarf to keep it in place and to give some form to the jaga-jaga (scattered) knot behind. I don’t mind the jaga-jaga knot though cos it gives the hijab a better shape without adding too much volume. I must say though, I don’t cover my ears with either the satin scarf or the undercap. Once, I told my lecturer I didn’t hear what he’d said when he asked me a question, and I was sitting in the first row. He said, “how will you hear when you have covered your ears?!” How sad. Lol.

So! On the under cap, I wear whatever hijab style I feel like. As for my night routine, I spray my hair again with water and oil and place a satin scarf on my pillow and go to bed. No matter how well I tuck the edges of the scarf under the pillow, sometimes I wake up not knowing where the scarf is. This also happens on the nights that I sleep with my hair tied up in a silk scarf. Hmm..it just occurred to me that I can pin the edges of the scarf under the pillow. I’ll have to try that and see.

I sleep with my head covered up when I am deep conditioning the hair. I usually do this when the next day is a free day for me cos it’s also going to be wash day and my hair would be able to breathe! Usually it’s not advisable to leave a deep conditioner in your hair overnight but I only use homemade DCs with natural ingredients and I haven’t had any problems from leaving them in overnight. But then again, it depends on the kind of hair you have. I have very thick, tough hair that’s just terrible when it’s dry so I focus on moisturizing DCs. We’ll talk about my DCs later. I hope you’ll try a layer of satin under your hijab for moisture retention. You know how those normal undercaps and scarves just dry out your hair. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Satin

Say Something ;)

